Databases

Biographies

Biography in Context

Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world’s most influential people...

Contemporary Library Criticism Select

Contemporary Literary Criticism – Select (CLC-Select) is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.  Each C...

Books & Reading

Academic OneFile

Academic Onefile contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contain...

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages, and provides specialized s...

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disci...

NoveList

NoveList is an electronic readers’ advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.  Through its a...

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 46,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online....

What Should I Read Next?

Enter a book you like and the site will analyse our huge database of real readers’ favorite books to provide book recommendations and...

Business & Investing

General BusinessFile ASAP

Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as inv...

Small Business Resource Center

A resource for entrepreneurs which covers all major areas of starting and operating a business....

Career

Vocations and Career Collection

Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and mai...

Consumer

Consumer Reports

Known as one of the most trusted resources for information and advice on consumer products, this award-winning website contains informa...

Hospitality, Leisure, and Tourism Collection

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historica...

Criminal Justice

Bureau of Justice Statistics

The Bureau of Justice provides free access to data on courts, crimes and law enforcement, and more....

Congress.gov

The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative i...

Criminal Justice Collection

The Criminal Justice Collection database focuses on all aspects of the criminal justice field. Publications include: American Criminal ...

Culinary

Culinary Arts Collection

The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousand...

Economics

Bureau of Labor

Information, publications, and data sets on labor and economic issues....

Fuel Economy Guide

Developed by the US Department of Energy and the US Environment Protection Agency, the Fuel Economy Guide features data for new and use...

Education

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education, ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, se...

Educator’s Reference Complete

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administr...

Encyclopedia & General Reference

Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood)

Grade Level PreK-5. Play, discover, create—these are the cornerstones of learning for young children. Now, Britannica gives teachers ...

Britannica Online Public Library Edition

Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica, Britan...

Britannica Online School Edition (Elementary, Middle, High School)

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online Schoo...

Britannica Public Library Edition for Kids

Contains Compton’s Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and a wealth of other age-appropriate material for younger stude...

Catholic Encyclopedia

The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of ...

Digital Media Catalog (Overdrive)

The Digital Media Catalog (OverDrive) provides popular audiobooks and eBooks for users to download. There is also a collection of Publ...

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

This encyclopedia covers world religious leaders and scholars—past and present—in the United States and the world....

General Reference Center Gold

Use this general interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular cult...

Jewish Encyclopedia

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The...

PowerSearch

Gale PowerSearch is a platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated, yet simple, solution for managing a wealth o...

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Written and maintained by expert scholars from around the world, the SEP is an up-to-date reference work covering philosophy and relate...

Geneaology

American Ancestors

Available in Library Use Only. Dozens of genealogical databases from the New England Historic Genealogical Society, including full text...

General Research

ArXiv

Open access to almost 1,000,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Stat...

Avalon Project

Produced by Yale Law School, the Avalon Project is a collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics,...

Census.gov

The U.S. Census Bureau provides access to data about the United States in a variety of formats. This page collects all of their data ac...

Data.gov

This searchable catalog includes over 70,000 datasets on a wide range of topics. Datasets from federal, state, academice and other inst...

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely...

Expanded Academic ASAP

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic discipl...

Global

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are...

Government

FedStats

Data from over 100 government agencies....

MARE: MA Adoption Resource Exchange

The Massachusetts Adoption Resource Exchange has moved entirely online. Visit the website, hit “Register” to create an acco...

Supreme Court Database

This database includes data on the U.S. Supreme Court from 1953 to 2005....

TRAC

Comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government...

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, num...

Health Reference Center Almanac

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safe...

MedLine Plus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health’s Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Lib...

Nursing and Allied Health Collection Resource Center

All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including ...

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access...

History

American Decades 1990-1999

American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researc...

American Decades Primary Sources

American Decades Primary Sources is a cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or exce...

US History in Context

U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant ...

World History in Context

World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant...

Newspaper

Boston Globe

Provides full text access to The Boston Globe – 1980-current....

Educator’s Reference Complete

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administr...

Expanded Academic ASAP

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic discipl...

General OneFile

General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases....

InfoTrac Newsstand

A full-text newspaper resource with access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading tit...

The New York Times

This database includes full-text of the New York Times from January 1, 1985 to the present....

References for Kids

Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood)

Grade Level PreK-5. Play, discover, create—these are the cornerstones of learning for young children. Now, Britannica gives teachers ...

Britannica Online School Edition (Elementary, Middle, High School)

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online Schoo...

Britannica Public Library Edition for Kids

Contains Compton’s Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and a wealth of other age-appropriate material for younger stude...

InfoTrac K-12 Student Edition

Designed for junior high and middle school students. Includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering curre...

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and vis...

Short Stories for Students

Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and s...

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and referen...

Religion

Catholic Encyclopedia

The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of ...

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

This encyclopedia covers world religious leaders and scholars—past and present—in the United States and the world....

Science

Science in Context

Science in Context provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 ma...